An artist-in-residence program for Canadian opera singers and pianist-vocal coaches

The Atelier lyrique is a residency program for Canadian opera singers and pianist-vocal coaches that serves as a springboard for professional development within the Opéra de Montréal. It offers tailored training in a broad spectrum of subjects for vocal artists. The Atelier ensures that each and every participant is provided with the tools they need to attain their full potential and to encourage their integration into the profession, their independence and their leadership skills

The Atelier provides privileged access to the inner workings of the Opera. It offers rewarding, passionate and enriching training where each artist is given the opportunity to explore many facets of the profession in complete confidence. Since its founding in 1984, the Atelier has contributed to the development of over two hundred artists who are now working around the world.

360° bilingual training

Becoming a professional opera singer calls for more than a beautiful voice! No different than Olympic athletes who are surrounded by experts, the young artists of the Atelier lyrique are provided with bespoke training to ensure their success. 

 Lessons and coaching in diction and singing

Our artists are regularly trained by some of the best professors and rehearsal pianists in Canada. Several master classes are also offered each season by leading international singers.

 Acting, movement and combat​

In addition to working their voices, the Atelier’s artists are given access to extensive training on all facets of the stage to fully develop as scintillating performers.

 Stage experience

Throughout the season, our artists in residence will take in a wide variety of experiences thanks to our diverse programming including roles and roles studies in Opéra de Montréal productions, chamber operas, recitals, orchestral concerts and shows in the community. These are golden opportunities to acquire experience and knit close ties with inspiring artists at the peak of their art!

 Physical and mental health​

Opera is a physically demanding art that uses the entire body. To properly prepare for the physical demands of the stage, our artists are supported according to their specific needs by sport coachs, therapists, nutritionists and ORLs to help manage their overall health and to ensure its sustainability.

 Career development​

The Opéra de Montréal network is vast, and it offers many exceptional opportunities for development such as master classes, roundtables, auditions, demo recordings, etc. Anxiety management, motivation and leadership seminars are included in the training program.

 Budgeting and taxes

Compensation is provided to artists and they are given a budget to pursue their personal development and training. Tax workshops for self-employed workers are also available. A wide array or programming throughout the entire season offers many exciting opportunities within the profession such as roles and roles studies opportunities at the Opéra de Montréal productions, chamber operas, recitals, orchestral concerts and shows in the community.
@ Tam Lan Truong - Kiri Te Kanawa et Nathan Keoughan (Atelier 2016-2018) - Concours musical international de Montréal 2018

National auditions

Registration for 2020/2010 season is now open

Our Artists

Our Residents 2019-2020
  • Frances Armstrong-Douglas

    Pianist coach

    Bio
  • Florence Bourget

    Mezzo-soprano

    Bio
  • Spencer Britten

    Tenor

    Bio
  • Vanessa Croome

    Soprano

    Bio
  • Matthew Dalen

    Tenor

    Bio
  • Brenden Friesen

    Bass-baritone

    Bio
  • Holly Kroeker

    Pianist coach

    Bio
  • Kirsten LeBlanc

    Soprano

    Bio
  • Jean-Philippe Mc Clish

    Bass-baritone

    Bio
  • Rose Naggar-Tremblay

    Mezzo-soprano

    Bio
  • Andrea Núñez

    Soprano

    Bio
  • Elizabeth Polese

    Soprano

    Bio

Academy

The artists benefit from the expertise of seasoned professionals to help develop vocal technique, the performance of various musical styles, acting skills, and operatic diction. The health and career management components are part of the bilingual 360º training they receive during their residency.

Chantal Lambert, Director
Marie-Ève Scarfone, Head Coach
Marie Maous, Program Coordinator
Geneviève Lessard, Production Coordinator

Team 19-20

  • Rachel Andrist

    Pianist coach (guest)

    Bio
  • Dre Francoise P. Chagnon

    Otorhinolaryngologist

    Bio
  • Jocelyn Coutu

    Choreographer and dancer

    Bio
  • Tom Diamond

    Stage director (guest)

    Bio
  • Renaud Doucet

    Stage director (guest)

    Bio
  • Guillaume Dulude

    Anxiety, motivation and leadership management strategies

    Bio
  • Nicolas Ellis

    Conductor

    Bio
  • Alain Gauthier

    Stage director

    Bio
  • Ariane Girard

    Mezzo-soprano

    Bio
  • Esther Gonthier

    Pianist coach

    Bio
  • Dominique Labelle

    Soprano

    Bio
  • Stéphane Laforest

    Conductor

    Bio

Résidence d’artistes pour chanteurs d’opéra et pianistes-chefs de chant

Résidence d’artistes pour chanteurs d’opéra et pianistes-chefs de chant canadiens, l’Atelier lyrique est un tremplin de perfectionnement professionnel au cœur de l’Opéra de Montréal. Offrant une formation sur mesure qui couvre le large spectre de développement d’un artiste lyrique, l’Atelier s’assure d’outiller adéquatement chaque participant pour qu’il atteigne son plein potentiel tout en encourageant son insertion dans le milieu professionnel, son autonomie et son leadership.

Incursion privilégiée dans les rouages du milieu de l’opéra, l’Atelier lyrique propose un cadre stimulant, passionnant et enrichissant où chaque artiste peut explorer les multiples facettes de son métier en toute confiance. Depuis sa création en 1984, l’Atelier a contribué au développement de plus de deux cents artistes, qui font aujourd’hui carrière à travers le monde.

Une formation 360° et bilingue

Devenir un chanteur d’opéra professionnel nécessite beaucoup plus qu’une belle voix ! À l’instar des athlètes olympiques, nos jeunes artistes de l’Atelier lyrique sont entourés de nombreux experts leur offrant un accompagnement sur mesure afin d’assurer leur réussite.

 Cours de chant, de diction et coachings

Les artistes sont guidés sur une base régulière par les meilleurs professeurs et pianistes répétiteurs du Canada. Plusieurs classes de maîtres sont également offertes chaque saison par les plus grands chanteurs et chanteuses de la scène lyrique internationale.

 Jeu scénique, mouvement, combat​

En plus de travailler leurs voix, les artistes de l’Atelier ont accès à une formation extensive couvrant toutes les facettes qui leur permettront de devenir de brillants interprètes.

 Expériences scéniques​

Tout au long de la saison, les artistes en résidence vivent des expériences variées dans le cadre de notre riche programmation : rôles ou études de rôles dans les productions de l’Opéra de Montréal, opéras de chambre, récitals, concerts avec orchestre et spectacles dans la communauté. Des occasions en or de prendre de l’expérience et de tisser des liens privilégiés avec des artistes inspirants au sommet de l’art !

 Santé physique et mentale​

L’opéra est un art très exigeant qui sollicite tout le corps de l’interprète. Pour bien s’y préparer, les artistes sont entourés selon leurs besoins spécifiques, d'entraineurs, de thérapeutes, nutritionnistes et ORL leur permettant une gestion saine et durable de leur santé globale.

 Développement de carrière​

Le réseau de l’Opéra de Montréal est vaste. Les occasions sont nombreuses pour développer des opportunités exceptionnelles : classes de maîtres, tables rondes, auditions, enregistrement de démos, etc. Des séminaires en gestion de l'anxiété, motivation et leadership font partie intégrante de la formation.

 Budget et fiscalité​

Une rémunération est offerte aux artistes et ils disposent également d’un budget personnel pour bonifier leur développement et leur formation. Des ateliers sur la fiscalité de travailleurs autonomes sont également offerts. Tout au long de la saison, une programmation diversifiée les projette sur le terrain excitant du métier: rôles ou études de rôles dans les productions de l’Opéra de Montréal, opéras de chambre, récitals, concerts avec orchestre, spectacles dans la communauté.
Kiri Te Kanawa et Nathan Keoughan (Atelier 2016-2018) - Concours musical international de Montréal 2018 @Tam Lan Truong

Auditions Nationales

La période des inscriptions pour chanteurs saison 2020-2021 est maintenant ouverte.

Nos Artistes

Nos Résidents 2019-2020
  • Frances Armstrong-Douglas

    Pianiste coach

    Bio
  • Florence Bourget

    Mezzo-soprano

    Bio
  • Spencer Britten

    Ténor

    Bio
  • Vanessa Croome

    Soprano

    Bio
  • Matthew Dalen

    Ténor

    Bio
  • Brenden Friesen

    Baryton-basse

    Bio
  • Holly Kroeker

    Pianiste coach

    Bio
  • Kirsten LeBlanc

    Soprano

    Bio
  • Jean-Philippe Mc Clish

    Baryton-basse

    Bio
  • Rose Naggar-Tremblay

    Mezzo-soprano

    Bio
  • Andrea Núñez

    Soprano

    Bio
  • Elizabeth Polese

    Soprano

    Bio

Académie

Les artistes bénéficient de l’expertise de professionnels chevronnés pour développer leur technique vocale, l’interprétation des styles musicaux, le jeu scénique et la diction lyrique. Les volets santé et gestion de carrière font partie de la formation 360 bilingue sur laquelle ils peuvent compter tout au long de leur résidence.

Chantal Lambert, directrice
Marie-Ève Scarfone, chef de chant principal
Marie Maous, coordonnatrice de programme
Geneviève Lessard, coordonnatrice de production

Équipe 19-20

  • Rachel Andrist

    Pianiste coach (invitée)

    Bio
  • Dre Francoise P. Chagnon

    Oto-rhino-laryngologie

    Bio
  • Jocelyn Coutu

    Chorégraphe et danseur

    Bio
  • Tom Diamond

    Metteur en scène (invité)

    Bio
  • Renaud Doucet

    Metteur en scène (invité)

    Bio
  • Guillaume Dulude

    Gestion de l'anxiété, motivation et leadership

    Bio
  • Nicolas Ellis

    Chef d'orchestre

    Bio
  • Alain Gauthier

    Metteur en scène

    Bio
  • Ariane Girard

    Mezzo-soprano

    Bio
  • Esther Gonthier

    Pianiste coach

    Bio
  • Dominique Labelle

    Soprano

    Bio
  • Stéphane Laforest

    Chef d'orchestre

    Bio